April 23, 2024


The North Eastern Area of India comprises of the states of  Assam, Arunachal Pradesh, Meghalaya, Mizoram, Manipur, Tripura and Nagaland. The entire area is the responsiblity of Eastern Air Command [EAC] with its HQ at Shillong. EAC maintains airbases at Calcutta, Panagarh, Kalaikunda , Barrackpore, Bagdogra, Hashimara (All in West Bengal), Jorhat, Chabua, Gauhati, Tezpur, (All in Assam), Shillong (Meghalaya) and some “Advanced Landing Grounds” as in Walong (Arunachal Pradesh), Mohanbari and Vijaynagar. Some of the airfields where warbirds were sighted in the North East are listed at the end of the page.