April 21, 2024


The main hub of Indian Air Force’s operations in the north are the trio of states comprising of Punjab, Himachal Pradesh and Haryana. Before 1965, all the three states were under a single entity, Punjab State. All the IAF’s oldest and major airbases – Like Ambala, Pathankot, Halwara, Adampur, Sirsa, Bhatinda, Rajasansi, Chandigarh etc are located in these three state areas.