April 23, 2024


Manipur state is one of the ‘seven sisters’ of the North East. Manipur literally means “A jeweled land”. Manipur came under the British Rule as a Princely State after the defeat in the Anglo-Manipuri War of 1891. After independence of India in 1947, the Princely State of Manipur was merged in the Indian Union on October 15,1949 and became a full-fledged State of India on the 21th January, 1972

Imphal is the Capital city of Manipur, where the Japanese were stopped in their tracks during their advance in the Second World War. This, combined with the protracted insurgency over a few decades has resulted in Manipur having a significance defence presence.